Is it me?? (aka My Mad Boss)

As soon as someone says “I don’t mean to moan!” you can prepare for a rant or a tirade. In that spirit let me begin…

I don’t have many complaints in life. Really and truly I’m blessed, but occasionally the effort of doing a stressful and gruelling day job and then coming home (via the gym) to write or edit chapters can take its toll.

I can manage most days but some u just want to scream and tell Day job to go f*** itself and embrace Evening job completely.

Today is one of those days.

I have two bosses at Day job. Yay you I hear you say – because one is just never enough!

Male boss is great. Mostly because he ignores me and just let’s me get on with it… so far.

Lady boss… Well she’s special. I’m a feminist and huge believer in The Sisterhood. Women STILL get the raw end of the deal despite male protestations that we have equality so we should just shut up. If we are equal how come we get paid less than you?? Anywho she is special as she has the capacity to reduce me to violence and anger in seconds.

Example 1
Boss “Can you please arrange a 1:1 where we can review your activities?”
Me “Sure.” thinking… You speak to me ten times a day what could you possibly have to say in a ANOTHER 1:1??!

Next day…
Boss via email “Why have you not sent me an invite for a 1:1?”
Me – resends the invite.

Day after..
Boss again via email “You have to arrange the 1:1 ASAP.”
Me – roll my eyes and re-reissue the invite again.

Today…
Boss yet again via email “Your refusal to arrange the 1:1 is unacceptable. You have to do it ASAP. This will go down in your half year review!”

I just rang her to point out that not only have I sent it once immediately after she asked, I have also sent several reinvites and confirmations.

Boss “Oh. I see. Well guess they got archived. Yes I see them now. Thanks.” then hangs up.
Me – slam phone down, yell expletives, and while avoiding colleagues looks go to the toilets scream internally “Aaaaaarrrrrggggghhhhhh!!” while throwing cold water on my face.

She ain’t no sister of mine!!!

4 thoughts on “Is it me?? (aka My Mad Boss)

  1. lol, I probably would have kicked her A…. after the first “reminder” 😉 some people have nothing better to do than to bug the ones doing the real work

What do you think?

