Day 3 NaNoWriMo – Meagre

I tried I SWEAR but only 612 words today.

How is everyone else doing?

Todays meagre offering:

===================================================================================

He wondered what Edgar would think of all this. He looked around the room surveying his misdeeds and his mess. Such a bright future. He had been promised it but no one had ever asked him if he wanted it, apart from Edgar. He thought back to the day before he left for University.

“Is this it then? You leave and when you come back from Uni it will all be different?”

“I’ll still be me Ed.”

“Will you?” Edgar sat with his knees to his chest clasping them tightly. His hands were white and he couldn’t seem to meet Miles’ eye. “You’ll be some yahoo drunk on power and ready to throw yourself into whatever the old man has in store for you.”

“It’s the family firm it’s not like I’m joining a satanic cult.”

“Hmmm.” Edgar didn’t look convinced.

The sun was still high in the late summer sky and Miles sat on Edgar’s bed. He had come in to give him his address and some wise words. Though now that he was here it was Edgar that was keen to talk.

“God I’m dreading it. It’s as if I’m leaving. I wish I was leaving. I wish I was not being left here. With him.”

“He’s not that bad. “

“To you he’s not that bad. The eldest, the chosen blah blah blah. I’m the reject the fuck up.”

“You know you’re not.” There was a hint of anger in Miles voice. Their father was not an easy man but he only meant well and this self-indulgent moping from Edgar was helping no one.”

“Good grief of course I know I’m not.” He snapped back.  “But I am to him and he had low expectations of me to start with.”

“You have to understand it’s hard for dad. He is different, part of an older world where things were done in certain ways and some things well… some things were just not done.”

Miles stood up and looked out the window. He could see his mother sitting in the garden reading the Sunday Times with Pickle her little terrier on her lap. The old dog basking in the affection and in the sunshine. Mum sat with the paper but Miles noticed she didn’t seem to be turning the pages. Sitting there so still. What does she make of all this? Is this the future she saw for herself and for her sons?

“Just stay out of his way. That’s what I came in here to say. It’s the only advice I can offer. It’s not much. But time will heal the breach and things may even get back to normal. “

“Ha!” Edgar chuckled to himself and said “Normal? What was ever normal about this family?”

Miles turned to give him a withering look but as he did he saw just how young Edgar was and how scared he seemed to be.

“Don’t worry. It’s only 3 months till Christmas and then I’ll be back. “

He hoped Edgar would be ok till then.

2 thoughts on “Day 3 NaNoWriMo – Meagre

  1. I’ve only done about 1,700 in three days but what I am finding is that I’m learning a lot about my characters that I didn’t know. All we can do is keep moving forward and that’s what you’re doing 🙂

What do you think?

