Day 12 NaNoWriMo – The road is long

It’s been a while and we NaNoWriMoers are nearly half way through our novel month. I’m not there by a long shot but today was a good day. I woke before dawn feeling sluggish and drowsy. Crawled to the kitchen where after much coffee yet still in darkness I started to type.

My new iPad keyboard is rubbery and not every letter struck true yet quickly a chapter formed and characters and plot started to emerge. I’m not really sure where it’s going. I think a novella but I guess only time will tell.

I felt inspired, and though it was still dark decided to finally after 4 months start editing the novel again. I know I know it doesn’t count if its not actual writing. But I’m glad I did it. Though I have also concluded that I really wish I had started using scrivener a long time ago. Most of the current editing process revolves of pinning one chuck of writing to another that is sequentially before it in the story. It’s a stupid and as hard as it sounds. Writing any part of the story that came to me seemed like such a good idea at the time yet it’s proving to be a total pain in the old proverbial.

Only 45,000 words to go!

Cripes!

What do you think?

